19/04/2012: Government to set up five economic zones

The government has decided to set up five economic zones in the country to drive industrialisation and enhance the living standards of rural people by creating jobs.

The decision was taken at the first meeting of the governing board of Bangladesh Economic Zone Authority (BEZA) at the Prime Minister's Office yesterday with Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina in the chair.The economic zones will be set up in Anwara upazila and Mirsarai of Chittagong, Sherpur of Moulvibazar, Mongla of Bagerhat and in areas near Bangabandhu Bridge in Sirajganj.

The five economic zones are part of the government's plan to set up economic zones in all seven divisions, PM's Press Secretary Abul Kalam Azad told reporters after the meeting. More economic zones would also be set up in other areas in the future, he said.The purpose of the economic zones is to expedite massive economic development in remote areas, alleviate poverty, set up agro-based industries and food processing plants for increasing the country's export basket and creating jobs.

Hasina directed the authorities to be careful about maintaining the environment of the areas as well to try to minimise the losses of the local people in establishing such economic zones.

Source: The Daily Star, Dhaka